Getting re-introduced to Parsley

My earliest childhood memories of cooking is chopping parsley for the lasagna and meatballs with my grandmother.  With my arms barely reaching over the table I’d carefully remove the stems with a scissor then just chop-chop-chop.  In theory is sounds fun but two bunches of parsley later with a sore thumb and index finger, it’s not fun anymore.  Honestly, I never even really liked it in the meatballs and could barely taste it in the lasagna.

Since then I’ve been slightly scarred by these childhood memories and haven’t used parsley too much in my cooking.

Today I decided to make a nice light salad and while flipping through some of my favorite Martha Stewart recipes I found a celery orange salad…with parsley.  I ripped some of the leaves off the bunch and threw them into my little food chopper.  I only used about half of the yield in fear I wouldn’t want the strong parsley taste overpowering the citrus.  Alas!  While stirring and tasting with my little spoon I kind of liked what the parsley added, and added the rest of my little pile.

Baby steps, but progress.

Here’s the recipe:

(I made this for one person so gauge accordingly)

  • 2 oranges – grate out about 3 tablespoons of zest and use about half of one orange to get some juice for a dressing, chop of the rest into bite-sized pieces (you can use the reaming peel for some flavored water)
  • 3 celery stalks chopped
  • 1 can of chickpeas lightly chopped (I only used about 3 quarters)
  • 1/2 red onion chopped
  • about 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • some chopped parsley (use your judgement, when it’s all mixed together you should see a nice even green throughout)
  • salt and pepper
  • OPTIONAL: romaine lettuce, chopped cashews

Mix all ingredients together and then drizzle on the olive oil and squeeze out half the orange on top.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

