First Day of School!

Yesterday was my first day of culinary school at the Institute of Culinary Education!  After making a mad dash from the subway to my apartment to Staples to get a lock for my locker I huffed and puffed my way to the 6th floor registrar’s office.   They unloaded an encyclopedic size text book along with some other smaller sized guides and specialty books.  Next a picture for my school ID which will get me discounts at William Sonoma and Sur la Table!!  I did a quick change into my chef uniform (with my name embroidered on it!) and made some small talk with the rest of the students as we waited for the chef to arrive.  As we went around the 15 person class I learned that 5 of us were all marketing, advertising refugees!  And the chef made a very good point that the two disciplines are quite parallel.  In both, you are dealing with deadlines, a ton of information coming at you very quickly, having to improvise when things change, project management and working together to push out a final product.  Most of the class was devoted to academic policy but I did learn about some fun perks!  Food Network and Bravo are always doing casting calls at the school, even Mr. Gordan Ramsey!  The chef  made it clear that he would have a long and serious talk before we put ourself out for that one!  We also received our knife kits.  They gave us some really beautiful knives, bigger and sharper than I’ve ever seen!  Unwrapping and putting them in the corresponding sheath was quite nerve-wracking.  Especially after the chef told us a story about how one of his students cut open a major artery they first time he did this.  Today will probably be some culinary history and knife skills!

Bonus to all friends.  I can take you to a recreational class for 25% off and you’ll want to come by on Wednesdays to eat all the leftovers from Monday and Tuesday.  The kitchen has a whole area devoted to take-home containers.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “First Day of School!

  1. Mama C

    Congratulations!!! Hope to reap some of your benefits!!! Good luck!!!
    Mama C

Leave a Reply

